top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJB

Spring, but make it Fashion

Spring, the time of new beginnings, daffodils and baby lambs, also the perfect time to water that summer wardrobe excitement so it can bloom. Even though the majority of our spring is being spent inside this year, it doesn't mean I've stopped online shopping and styling up some outfits for whatever is left of spring/summer when all this is over. I'll be talking you through my top 5 outfits from my wardrobe that I'll currently be showcasing to my local Tesco with high hopes of wearing them to many bars, restaurants and days out once things are back to normal.


First up, my favourite go to look. Dungarees & a striped top. Such a strong reoccurring combo from within my wardrobe. Now I have many stripes and many dungarees but given the season I opted for classic baby blue denim dungarees and a pastel striped tee to compliment it. Now the majority of my wardrobe is on a budget due to my student loan so I like to spend my money wisely and get a lot of wear out of my outfits. I do love a good brand when it comes to shoes and coats but normally the rest of my garments don't cost a lot and can be found easily on the highstreet.

Dungarees - Charity Shop £16

Striped Tee - Primark £4


Spring is a time of colour so for my next outfit I thought I'd turn it up a notch and give you Tie Dye. Tie dye became big in the 60's alongside the psychedelia trends and I love its endless colour schemes and patterns and of course you can do it yourself for extra fun. I own a few tie dyes but this mesh top is breathable and soft so its the perfect option for a warm day. I even style it up with flares or cargo pants for a night out. On this occasion I have paired it with some duck egg blue culottes, they're light and comfortable so together this is the perfect outfit for good weather. For that extra burst of colour I wore my iridescent Dr Marten sandals, they're the perfect mermaid colour, they're so comfortable and always get a compliment - my favourite sandals!

Tie dye mesh top - Missguided £10

Culottes - Primark £13

Dr Marten Sandals - £100


Still on that 60’s vibe ( part of me always will be) my next outfit is a pair of bell bottom jeans and a very 60’s Adidas ringer t-shirt. I adore these bell bottom jeans. I have wanted some for ages but never found the right pair but alas, here they are. They are waist defining too which is always a bonus, they’re stretchy and soft so I don’t feel like my waist in trapped in a vice and I still get a hugged jean effect on the back. My Adidas ringer T-shirt is a lovely hue of mustard yellow, eye catching yet soft. I love the 60’s style of the stripes down the side and statement branding over the front. I tied the T-shirt at the back for a ruffled crop effect and wore my new chunky Skechers trainers. I honestly never thought I’d own some Skechers until I was 50+ but I found these online and loved the colours. They have memory foam soles and chunky trainers are still fashionable (Thank god) so they work really well with the outfit.

Ringer T-shirt - Adidas £30

Bell bottom jeans - New look £30

Trainers - Skechers £34


Now it wouldn’t be spring without a dress. I decided to go for this snakeskin form fitting midi dress. It is light and breathable aswell as having interesting asymmetrical lines within the pattern. The colours are muted for me but its nice to have a diverse wardrobe. The dress is lovely to wear and the mesh feel is just what you want on a spring afternoon. seen as though the dress is a muted colour you can pair it with colourful accessories if you wish. I added a pair of blue Adidas sambas. Trainers and dresses are a must have at the moment, I love it.

Dress - ASOS £22

Trainers - Adidas £75


Now I've saved the best till last, all hail my new princess skirt. Now I don’t consider my fashion style to be ultra feminine, I spend most of my days in dungarees, mom jeans or relaxed jumpsuits but when I saw this skirt that part of me that used to love dressing up in my younger years woke up and begged me to buy this skirt. I was skeptical about how I could make it a casual outfit but truth be told I just really wanted to wear the skirt and spin around - whether that be outside somewhere or in my room. After trying on different tops I found some outfits that worked and thought why not, I don’t really care what others say about my outfits, if I want to wear this puffy sparkly skirt to Tesco then I bloody will… and for the record, I did. This cute pastel coloured lemon top went perfectly with the skirt and I paired it with, of course, chunky trainers but this time they were pastel blue to match the tonal scheme we have going on in this look.

T-shirt - Primark £4

Skirt - New look £30

Trainers - skechers £50


I hope this blog has taken your mind off the current situation if only for 10 minutes. Have a lovely day, play dress up with your wardrobe and dream of them beautiful summer days that we will be reunited with soon.

JB x

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page